December 7, 2022

State Legislative Election Results

On Monday, December 5, the California State Legislature convened in “organizing sessions” to begin the 2023-24 Legislative Session. The sessions saw new members sworn in despite one race in each house still being too-close-to-call.

The California State Legislature underwent significant change following the 2022 General Election. In the Assembly, although one race is still not called, the Democrats are likely to hold a Supermajority with 62 votes in the Assembly and Republicans holding 18 votes, assuming current leads hold in the Holstege-Wallis race in AD 47 (Palm Springs) where Wallis (R) leads by 35 votes. In the Senate, although one race is still not called, the Democrats are likely to hold a Supermajority with 32 votes and Republicans holding eight votes, assuming current leads hold in the Hurtado-Shepard race in SD 16 (Central Valley) where Hurtado (D) leads by 12 votes.

In the Assembly races, which occur every two years, 24 new members were elected to the Assembly. Of these new members, many are considered likely to be friendly to the life science industry. Diane Papan (D-San Mateo) represents a large life sciences cluster in the Bay Area and has made direct overtures to fostering a collaborative spirit with industry in the legislature. Esmeralda Soria (D-Fresno) is widely viewed as a moderate candidate. Jasmeet Bains (D-Bakersfield) is a family doctor and comes from a fairly conservative part of the state. Avelino Valencia (D-Anaheim) is also viewed as a moderate candidate and represents a life science cluster in the Orange County area. Several other new members could be friendly to the life sciences.

New Assembly Members

AD 5 – Joe Patterson (R-Rocklin)
AD 7 – Josh Hoover (R-Rancho Cordova)
AD 10 – Janet Nguyen (D-Sacramento)
AD 12 – Damon Connolly (D-San Rafael)
AD 20 – Liz Ortega (D-San Leandro)
AD 21 – Diane Papan (D-San Mateo)
AD 22 – Juan Alanis (R-Modesto)
AD 27 – Esmeralda Soria (D-Fresno)
AD 28 – Gail Pellerin (D-Santa Cruz)
AD 30 – Dawn Addis (D-Morro Bay)
AD 35 – Jasmeet Bains (D-Bakersfield)
AD 37 – Gregg Hart (D-Santa Barbara)
AD 39 – Juan Carrillo (D-Palmdale)
AD 40 – Pilar Schiavo (D-Santa Clarita)
AD 47 – Greg Wallis (R-Palm Springs) or Christy Holstege (D-Palm Springs) (toss up, Wallis leading +35 votes)
AD 51 – Rick Chavez Zbur (D-Santa Monica)
AD 60 – Corey Jackson (D-Riverside)
AD 63 – Bill Essayli (R-Lake Elsinore)
AD 64 – Blanca Pacheco (D-Bell Gardens)
AD 68 – Avelino Valencia (D-Anaheim)
AD 69 – Josh Lowenthal (D-Long Beach)
AD 70 – Tri Ta (R-Westminster)
AD 71 – Kate Sanchez (R-San Marcos)
AD 72 – Diane Dixon (R-Laguna Beach)

In the Senate, there are nine new Senators representing about the same proportion of new members (roughly one-quarter) as there are in the Assembly. Marie Alvarado-Gil is a moderate Democrat elected in a “safe Republican” district through mathematical circumstances resulting from the state’s “top-two” primary system. Steve Padilla (D-Chula Vista) and Catherine Blakespear (D-Encinitas) both represent large portions of the San Diego life sciences cluster.

New Senate Members

SD 4 – Marie Alvarado-Gil (D-Placerville)
SD 6 – Roger Niello (R-Roseville)
SD 8 – Angelique Ashby (D-Sacramento)
SD 10 – Aisha Wahab (D-Hayward)
SD 16 – Melissa Hurtado (D-Fresno) or David Shepard (R-Tulare) (toss up, Hurtado leading +12 votes)
SD 18 – Steve Padilla (D-Chula Vista)
SD 20 – Caroline Menjivar (D-San Fernando)
SD 28 – Lola Smallwood -Cuevas (D-Los Angeles)
SB 38 – Catherine Blakespear (D-Encinitas)

During organizing sessions, the California State Assembly passed House Resolution 1, which elected Anthony Rendon (D-Lakewood) as Speaker through a term ending in June and appointed Robert Rivas (D-Hollister) as Speaker beginning on July 1, 2023. Assemblymember James Gallagher (R-Yuba City) will continue as Republican Leader in the Assembly.

In the Senate, Senate Pro Tem Toni Atkins (D-San Diego) will continue on as leader of the Senate and Senator Brian Jones (R-Santee) was elected by his caucus to serve as Minority Leader in the Senate replacing Senator Scott Wilk (R-Santa Clarita).

A number of important committee assignments are expected to be announced soon, populating all committees in each house through the beginning of the 2023-24 Legislative Session. Some Assembly Committee assignments are expected to change following the transition of the Speaker.

Biocom California congratulates all members of the 2023-24 Legislative Session and looks forward to partnering with the legislature to accelerate the life sciences industry in California and beyond.