TLS data

Board of Directors

Meet the Board

Meet the Biocom Board of Directors, working to ensure Biocom's programs, initiatives, and strategies work to accelerate life science across California.

"It’s so rewarding to see the tremendous impact the board has on advancing Biocom’s key initiatives and, through that, invigorating the entire Southern California life science community."
Carin Canale, CEO, Canale Communications
"As past Chairman and current Board member of Biocom, I am thrilled that this organization continues to have such an impactful role in building the Life Science industry in California and in doing so contributes in a big way to the innovation economy. On a personal note, I treasure the time I spend on this dedicated Board with so many passionate and innovative leaders of this great industry."
Magda Marquet, Co-Chairman & Founder, Althea

Executive Committee

Dan Burgess
Chair Emeritus; Chairman, Nabriva Therapeutics, PLC
Dan Burgess
Carin Canale-Theakston
Vice Chair; CEO, Canale Communications
Canale Communications
Christophe Schilling, Ph.D.
Chair; Chief Executive Officer, Genomatica
Lisa Haile, J.D., Ph.D.
Vice President and General Counsel; Partner & Global Life Science Sector Chair, DLA Piper
DLA Piper
Richard Pascoe
Chair Elect; CEO, Histogen
Apricus Biosciences, Inc.
Dan Kleeburg
Vice President, Finance; Partner, Ernst & Young LLP
Ernst & Young
Ted Schroeder
CEO, Nabriva Therapeutics
Nabriva Therapeutics
Joseph Panetta
President and Chief Executive Officer, Member, Biocom Board of Directors
Ranjeet Banerjee
Worldwide President of Medication Management Solutions, BD
Jennifer Cayer
President & CEO, 3E Therapeutics
3E Therapeutics
Charles Dadswell,
Sr. VP & General Counsel, Illumina
Illumina, Inc.
David Enloe
David Enloe, President and CEO of Ajinomoto Bio-Pharma Services
Ajinomoto Bio-Pharma Services
Stephen Ferruolo, J.D., Ph.D.
VP, Secretary; Dean & Professor of Law, USD School of Law
USD, University of San Diego
Wain Fishburn, J.D.
Partner, Cooley
Wolfgang Glaesner, Ph.D.
CSO-AME, Eli Lilly & Company
Eli Lilly
Steve Pacelli
EVP, Strategy & Corporate Affairs, DexCom
Dexcom, Inc.
Trindl Reeves
Chief Sales Officer, Marsh & McLennan Agency
Marsh & McLennan Agency LLC
Timothy Scott
VP, Industry; CEO, TEGA Therapeutics
TEGA Therapeutics
Peter Silvester
Senior Vice President, President of Life Sciences Solutions, Thermo Fisher Scientific
Thermo Fisher Scientific
Lesley Stolz, Ph.D.
EVP & Chief Business Officer, Annexon Biosciences
Johnson & Johnson Innovation, JLABS

Board of Directors

Steven Bartz, Ph.D.
Executive Director, Business Development and Licensing, West Coast, Merck Research Labs
Merck Research Laboratories
Rick Bregman
San Diego Market President and National Co-Head of Bank of America’s Healthcare Banking Group
Bank of America
Bruno Buisson, Ph.D.
CEO, Neuroservice
Deanne Calvert, J.D.
Head, State Government Relations, Sanofi US
Ho Cho, Ph.D.
Vice President, Biotherapeutics, Celgene
Dawn` Coughlin
CEO, Millennium Health
Millennium Health
Taylor Crouch
President & CEO, Organovo
Bassil Dahiyat, PhD.
President and CEO, Xencor
Nazeli Dertsakian
VP & General Manager of Product Operations, Genentech
Kelly Farrell
Chief of Staff, Sr. Director Oncology R&D, Pfizer
Pfizer Inc.
Michael Farrington
Vice President Global Marketing, NuVasive
Oliver Fetzer, Ph.D.
CEO, Synthetic Genomics
Synthetic Genomics
Jack Florio
Managing Director, Objective Capital Partners
Brinson Patrick Securities
Gregory Frost, Ph.D.
CEO, F1 Bio Ventures
F1 Bio Ventures
Jeffrey W. Guise Ph.D. Esq.
Member, Wilson, Sonsini, Goodrich & Rosati
Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati
Ronnie Hanecak, Ph.D.
Senior Director, Licensing, UC Irvine Applied Innovations
UCI's Office of Research
Rachel Haurwitz
President and CEO, Caribou Biosciences
Caribou Biosciences
Richard Heyman, Ph.D.
Executive Chairman, Metacrine
Aragon Pharmaceuticals
Ted Jacobs
Executive Managing Director, Cushman Wakefield
Cushman & Wakefield
Gerald Joyce, M.D., Ph.D.
Institute Director, Genomics Institute of the Novartis Research Foundation
Genomics Institute of the Novartis Research Foundation
David Kabakoff, Ph.D.
Executive Partner, Private Equity, Sofinnova
Sofinnova Ventures
Katherine Kantardjieff, Ph.D.
Dean, College of Science and Mathematics, California State University San Marcos
California State University of San Marcos
Steve Kay, Ph.D.
Provost Professor of Neurology, Biomedical Engineering and Biological Sciences Director of Convergent Bioscience, USC
USC Stevens Center for Innovation
Paul Laikind, Ph.D.
President & CEO, ViaCyte
Cheston Larson, J.D.
Partner & Co-Chair – Life Sciences Industry Group, Latham & Watkins LLP
Latham & Watkins
James Mackay, Ph.D.
CEO, Aristea Therapeutics
Ardea Biosciences
Stanley Maloy, Ph.D.
Associate Vice President for Research & Innovation, SDSU
Damien McDevitt, Ph.D.
Chief Business Officer
Ionis Pharmaceuticals
Marc T. Morley, J.D.
Member, Mintz, Levin, Cohn, Ferris, Glovsky and Popeo
Tracy Murphy
Executive Vice President, Life Science, Kilroy Realty
Kilroy Realty Corporation
Daniel J. Ryan
Executive Vice President, Alexandria Real Estate Equities
Alexandria Real Estate Equities
Dean Samsvick
Partner, KPMG LLP
Tsuneo Takahashi
President, NF Corporation
NF Techno Commerce
Kevin Tremblay
Sr. Director, SD Market Leader, Biomed Realty
Biomed Realty Trust
Tamera Weisser, Ph.D., J.D.
Partner, Jones Day
Jones Day
David Weitz
Head of Takeda California and Global Research Externalization, Takeda California, Inc.
Takeda Pharmaceuticals U.S.A., Inc.
Ken Weixel
Managing Partner, San Diego, Deloitte & Touche LLP
Tom West
Division President, Diagnostic Solutions, Hologic

Life Directors

Ken Baldwin
Principal, Ferguson Pape Baldwin Architects
Ferguson Pape Baldwin Architects
John Dunn
General Counsel, Vital Therapies
David Hale
Chairman, Hale BioPharma Ventures
Hale Biopharma Ventures
Guy Iannuzzi
CEO, Mentus
Brent Jacobs
Executive Managing Director, Cushman & Wakefield Global Life Sciences Practice Group
Cushman & Wakefield
Jack Lief
Director, CeleCor
CeleCor Therapeutics
Magda Marquet, Ph.D.
Co-Chairman & Founder, Althea (a member of Ajinomoto Group)
Ajinomoto Bio-Pharma Services
Steven Mento
President and CEO, Conatus Pharmaceuticals
Conatus Pharmaceuticals
Tina Nova, Ph.D.
President and CEO, Molecular Stethoscope
Molecular Stethoscope
Larry Stambaugh
Chairman, Molecular Assemblies, Inc.
Molecular Assemblies


Sandra Brown, Ph.D.
Vice Chancellor for Research, UCSD
Mark Cafferty
President & CEO, SD Regional Economic Development Corp.
San Diego Regional Economic Development Corp.
Peter Callstrom
President & CEO, SD Workforce Partnership
San Diego Workforce Partnership
Sunita Cooke, Ph.D.
Superintendent/President, Mira Costa College
Mira Costa College
Scott Lippman, Ph.D.
Director, UCSD Moores Cancer Center
Moores Cancer Center, Ucsd
Greg McKee
President & CEO
Peter Preuss
President, The Preuss Foundation
Peter Preuss
Jerry Sanders
President & CEO, SD Regional Chamber of Commerce
San Diego Regional Chamber of Commerce
David Webb, Ph.D.
Adjunct Professor, Scripps Research Institute
Scripps Research