Skip to main content

Scott Lippman

Headshot of Scott Lippman

Distinguished Professor of Medicine, Director of the Moores Cancer Center, Chugai Pharmaceutical Chair, and Associate Vice Chancellor at UC San Diego School of Medicine

Dr. Lippman is Distinguished Professor of Medicine at UC San Diego; preceded by 24 years on faculty at the MD Anderson Cancer Center (MDACC), including as Distinguished Chair of two Departments. His medical training included MD from Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, internship at the Johns Hopkins Hospital, fellowship at Stanford University; and he is triple board certified in hematology, internal medicine, and medical oncology. Lippmanā€™s research is recognized for defining genomic and immune drivers of precancer biology and invasive-disease transition; and leading pivotal randomized clinical trials and investigator-initiated trials, including the first precision trial in the precancer space. He was Chair of the American Association for Cancer Research (AACR) and American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) Prevention Committees, and NIH CDP study section; Editor-in-Chief of the AACR journal Cancer Prevention Research; and member of the FDA Oncologic Drugs Advisory Committee. Lippman has received ASCO, AACR, American Cancer Society (ACS), MDACC and Stand Up to Cancer awards; was elected to the prestigious Association of American Physicians (AAP); and has been funded by the NIH continually since 1990.